When Inside. For Inside.

Posted: 20 April 2016 in On the Pilgrim's Road, Prisons
Tags: , ,

prisoners eyesWhen I led the prayers last Sunday in a prison, several of the guys just stared at me, a bit surprised at what was being prayed.  Not hostile.  Just thinking something new.

The theme of the service was getting believers to hear the call of God to play a special part.  And why not for Christian prisoners too?  Does God’s calling get shut out be the high walls and barbed wire??  Cannot Christian convicts, who are repentant of past crimes, but still have to do the sentence, have a calling here?  Perhaps a specific one for a specific period?  But calling all the same. When inside. For inside.

They do, but need to be alerted to hear God’s voice. To discern the possibilities.  I was a bit surprised myself, to be honest.  But this is what was prayed:

:     We will pray to play the distinct role he may have for us. In this prison.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     We pray for those who need someone to talk to.  Someone who will be confidential.  Someone who will really listen. A soul friend.  Lord, you listen. Someone here too may be able to welcome, to be a listener too.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     We pray for those who feel discouraged. To whom no one says anything nice.  Lord, may they know your sweet encouragement. Someone here may be an encourager too.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     It can be hostile on the wings, and Lord sometimes we feel scared. Lord, give us your courage.  Someone here might be a braveheart for someone, strong, to help the vulnerable.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     We pray for those who have recently lost loved ones
[silence]
[a recently deceased relative was named]
[silence]
Lord, comfort them.
Someone here this morning might be a comforter to others as well.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     For the new prisoners, who feel lost and helpless.  Give them your help to understand how things work here Lord. Someone here might be a helper to them too.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     Oh Lord, reveal yourself to the many here who do not know you at all. Speak to their hearts. Someone here may be a speaker too, a witness to your Truth and Love.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     Sometimes we come to Chapel and yet… we do not really understand.  It needs to be explained to us differently.  Lord, teach these searching hearts.  Someone here may be such a teacher too. An explainer.
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     Lord, you speak and you listen.  Help us to pray in our cells as well as here. To open our hearts to you. Praying with others is good too. Perhaps someone here will pray with me?
:     Lord, is this for me?  Lord, let me play my part.

:     And all the people said …….. Amen


Bill

Leave a Reply

