“By God, believe in something.” Really?

Posted: 12 March 2015 in Poems, Understanding Others
Tags: , ,

images1LK6ZLWD

From the people that brought you
Ground Zero, Year Zero
And the Final Solution.

We are the Inquisition, seeking to purge your flesh
Peel it away or burn it, to save your soul
When we get to Heaven, you’ll greet us there
And thank us for what we did today.

Three cheers
For Bethnal Green Academy’s three most famous exports
Good luck Jihadi John,
But you look better with the mask on.

We want happiness too,
A world as it’s meant to be
It’s just – we want to play our part
While you just want to play.

You tell of love and laying down your life.
We lay down ours today – in the name of,
In the name of, in the name of…
Don’t stand there; you are right in the way.
(c) Bill Lovett

If I give everything I own to the poor
And even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr,
But I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere.
So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do.
I’m bankrupt without love. (c) St Paul

“By God, believe in something” (from a speech Martin Sheen in March 15)

Leave a Reply

