Hang On

Posted: 7 May 2011 in On the Pilgrim's Road
Tags: ,
Hanging on in difficult circumstances
News. I know quite a few blog readers have followed Wanda and my adventures in recent times, thank you indeed for your interest. So I am taking the liberty to let you in on some good news.  And reflect on it. Please free to press [Delete] anytime.
Prison Fellowship had a vacancy for a head of finance, a permanent full time position. I went for two interviews and last week I was offered the position.
Happy. I am delighted. They are a Christian organisation working in prisons helping offenders come to terms with their deeds (running restorative justice courses funded by the Prison Service), helping prisoners keep in touch with their families (arranging presents to be purchased and sent to their children), and helping them relate to non-offenders (by a letter writing programme), http://www.prisonfellowship.org.uk/.
Good Cause. I am happy to be part of what is a good cause. Jesus said “He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners” Lk4:18, “I was in prison and you came to visit me” Matt 25:36, etc. The issue is not whether the Herod/Pilate alliance put a lot of people into jail unjustly, whereas our system is largely just. The issue is that my human fallibleness, whether criminal or socially acceptable, does not put me beyond God’s reach. But its up to the citizens of God’s New Society to act, empowered by his Spirit.
Sad. It’s been a testing 12 months since we left Uganda. I went to India, and now in the 3rd month of a 4 month interim position in church poverty charity (good people too). I am glad this uncertainty is coming to an end. But there are 2 million others still unemployed (and many without an earning supportive wife, and with mortgage debts and kids needs). Why did God give me a job and not them? Well that’s a primitive take on god/gods. I did not slaughter a goat in the back garden and say the right incantations. Nor did I sign up to a religious sect that provided me with a card to use at kind of divine ATM. It is a fallen world to use the religious language and we all have to live with the consequences of bad ecisions (global, national, personal). In the long run, God’s purpose will not be crushed. But in all this, His purpose for me was not to despair, but have courage. Not to lose my dignity, but to have eyes for the needs of others to.
Hold On. I have been blessed in this period and Wanda has been supportive. I had held on. Now things could ease up, I must continue to hold on.
Best wishes in your own life and family too
Bill
Leave a Reply

